Southern Eats: The Joys of Buckhead

Buckhead, a suburban neighborhood of Atlanta, has such great food that you could stay here all week and never repeat a meal.

My home base was Nobu Hotel Atlanta, where Nobu Atlanta brings high end Japanese food to a luxury hotel.

My family and friends mocked me for forgoing the black cod miso and sushi but I was thrilled with my vegan food. And my cocktail.

Nobu Atlanta’s lychee martini

Nobu has a lychee martini with vodka and elderflower liqueur.

Citizen’s Market

Even a NY pacifist can get behind a Stun Gun at Citizne’s Market

Across the street from Nobu Hotel, the Citizen’s Market Food Hall also has a great bar. There is a happy hour every day from 3-6 pm with inexpensive beer, wine and cocktails. Even better, there is live music outside during good weather (often in Atlanta), and the giant windows open up to bring the outside in.

I loved my Stun Gun, with Maker’s Mark, Aperol, vermouth and bitters.

Spicy and rich vegan ramen from Sa’ Moto

There is a great variety of food here, too. I had fantastic spicy vegan ramen from Sa’ Moto

Krispy Rice has sushi and maki rolls The truffle avocado make rolls were fresh and yummy.

Breakfast too

Breakfast of champions: avocado toast from Ella Mia

Not every place at Citizen’s Market is open for breakfast. Ella Mia is, with coffee, pastries, and a loaded avocado toast. this had tomatoes, pickled red onions, feta and pistachios and it fueled me well for an intense workout at the luxury gym upstairs, Life Time.

Alon’s Bakery in Phipps Plaza

Alon’s Bakery, in Phipps Plaza

Another fantastic place for breakfast, Alon’s Bakery, has pastries, bread, and coffee. I was tempted by the luscious baked goods but resisted in favor of overnight oats. I did bring home an excellent babka since Rosh Hashanah was about to start.

2 thoughts on “Southern Eats: The Joys of Buckhead

Leave a comment